The different feel of j-blogs

June 26, 2006

I was focussed on print j-blogs for awhile and it's quite a gear shift to see what's happening in the broadcasting blogosphere.  In her article The Mission of the J-blog: Recapturing Journalistic Authority Online, Susan Robinson came up with some categories of types of j-blogs [acronyms are my interim coding]:

  • RN:  "Reporter's notebook with tidbits and incidentals."
  • OCW: "Straight column of opinion for the web."
  • QA: "Question and answer from editors."
  • RF:  "A readership forum."
  • CD:  "A confessional diary written by the reporter about his or her beat."
  • RU:  "A round-up of news summaries that promote the print publication."
  • RM:  "A rumour-mill blog that the reporter uses as an off-the-record account."  

The canuck print J-blogs I've seen are of the OCW / RN / RU type.  Even in the off- the-cuff feel of a blog, the sense is edited and controlled.  But I've noticed a CD feel in a few TV reporters.  This from Global's Mike Edgell, about a story he reported :

"That 8-year-old watched as his friend was shocked near death on a hydro line downed by a storm. The witness was brave and eloquent for an 8 year old, telling me he had been praying for his friends recovery. You know that phenomenon on a road trip when you forget driving a stretch of highway and then realize after the fact – wow what did I miss. I realized after the fact, what this kid must have endured. Caught up in the race to my deadline …my focus was on telling the story but it wasn’t until after it aired that I thought about what that kid is left with – a horrifying experience." 

And then:

"In my career so far, I have met people who have been victimized in every way possible I think. Sometimes they pop into my head months or even years later….i think of that woman who was chopped in pieces by her boyfriend and the interview I did with the killer before he was arrested and how many lives he affected. I think about an immigrant family in ottawa that lost everything it had built in Canada in a fire with no insurance. There are so many."     

I'm a little stunned and sad by that. 

Totally, totally different from the print peeps, and also from some of his reporter colleagues' blogs at Global.   

Leave a Reply

